JSA of LIS 420/Laser Champs hosted by Pequot Yacht Club Regatta Recap

2016 JSA 420/Laser Championships Regatta Recap

Pequot Yacht Club (Southport, CT) was the host of this year’s JSA 420/Laser Championships on August 12th and 13th. This end of season event brings together the top sailors from JSA of LIS Programs around the Sound to compete for championship trophies in the C420, Laser Standard and Laser Radial classes.

The regatta attracted 162 sailors and 108 boats from 19 clubs. Race conditions included light and variable winds and hot temperatures approaching 90 degrees both days. On Day 1 everyone sailed three races before pop-up storm cells in the mid-afternoon drove the fleet back to shore. On Day 2, conditions were even lighter, with only the C420 class finishing one race before the threat of another storm cell again forced the fleet to retreat to the harbor and an early finish.

In the C420 Class, out of 54 boats registered, the winners of the Pequot Cup for finishing first went to the team of Michelle Lahrkamp and Gabriella DelBello of American Yacht Club whose final two bullets allowed them to pull away from Julia Reynold and Hobi Lew of Pequot, who finished second. Larchmont Yacht Club teams grabbed the next two slots, with Elizabeth Kaplan and Elizabeth Crocker finishing third and Eric Hansen and John Faiella finishing fourth. Ryan McKinney and Clare Cassidy-Gardner finished fifth.

In the Laser Radial Class, out of 42 boats registered, Timothy Danilek from Noroton dominated with two first place finishes and one second to win the Joseph Cosulich Trophy. American Yacht Club sailors finished in the next two positions, with James Paul finishing second and Alexander Morgan finishing third. Long Island sailors rounded out the top five with John Eastman of Seawanhaka finishing fourth and Nick Chisari from Sea Cliff finishing fifth.

In the Laser Standard Class, out of 12 boats registered, there was a close battle for first place and the Commodore Edgar L. Raymond Trophy with Burke Anvari of Cedar Point Yacht Club edging out Chase Reynold of Pequot for first place by just one point. Richard O’Leary of American Yacht Club finished in third place. Fourth and fifth place finishes were awarded to Andrew Breschard from Cedar Point and Dennis Canada from Pequot, respectively

It is at this point in any recap that thanks are traditionally expressed. Before launching into that, there has to be acknowledgement of the benefit and privilege that was Pequot’s in having a world-class team of outside judges managing protest committees and providing behind the scenes guidance on the rules governing the conduct of this important regatta. Our team of judges included Don Mackowiecki and Dave Sinclair. Our Chief Judge was Timmy Larr. To watch these three conduct a protest committee is something to behold.

Pequot admittedly has a small footprint to host such a big event, but Jeff Engborg (Club Manager) and Travis Herman (Dockmaster) effectively reconfigured the space to make it all work. Our instructors, led by Becca Quirke (Head Instructor) provided behind the scenes wisdom, guidance and support that made a real difference. And Christopher Oburchay, Pequot’s Junior Program Administrator, was the “renaissance man” in effortlessly addressing “pop-up problems” throughout the event. All of these great efforts were coordinated by Regatta Co-Chairs Martha Murphy and Tim Clark.

Which leaves only two categories of unsung heroes: our legion of volunteers who either helped house our guests or helped provide other critical support. And, most importantly, Dan Nash, our Principal Race Officer and Commodore, whose excellent judgement and tenacity allowed us to stage solid racing without “trying to fool Mother Nature”.

Pequot Yacht Club thanks all of the competitors and coaches who participated in Champs this year. And we thank the JSA for allowing us to stage this great event.


Tim Clark, Pequot Yacht Club